Main Course · Poultry · Recipe

It went straight to my head. Cilantro-Lime-Scallion-Mint-Chili-Orange Chicken

It's yummy being green!

I’ve been very lucky over the past few weeks. Everything (save for the not-so-perfect Mother’s Day desserts) I cook tastes great, all of my fingers are in tact, no time wasted cleaning up horrific messes, and surprisingly, Jim and I haven’t suffered from food poisoning during my new-found obsession with creating my own recipes. Last weekend, visiting Jim’s wonderful aunt and uncle, I cooked Arroz con Pollo for 12 people and it tasted delicious! Usually, when I cook for any group of people, I am nervous and crabby during the cooking, scared and self-loathing during the serving. To my surprise, however, I felt easy going and sublime while cooking this weekend. No nervousness, and no self-loathing–I knew it would be wonderful and actually didn’t really care if it wasn’t. Maybe writing this food-blog has given me some confidence in the kitchen–and reading other people’s blogs, especially posts that share debacles and mistakes, show me I’m not alone in being a clumsy cook.

So, I’ve been extremely lucky. But luck has to end sometime…

The other night I created my own chicken stir-fryesque recipe with a combination of herbs and ingredients that seemed to come to me in a dream–actually, it was a combination of herbs and ingredients on sale at the market. Cilantro, lime, rice vinegar, scallions, soy sauce, sesame sauce, oyster sauce, garlic, chili peppers–wait, wait, there’s more–mint and orange. MMmmm, what a combo! Or, rather, what, a combo?!?!

The end product, to my great disbelief, was quite good. The peppery bit of herbs mixed well with the acidic sweetness of juice and the salt of the sauces, though I put too much herbs and juice into the mix, and the recipe below includes lessened amounts. With those changes, I’m sure the taste would improve gastronomically!

Cilantro-Lime-Scallion-Mint-Chili-Orange Chicken

Time: about 30 minutes (including prep)

Details: cooked on stovetop, using only a wok, on mainly medium-high heat

  • 1 tbs. rice vinegar
  • 1 tbs. corn oil
  • 1 tbs. dark sesame oil
  • 1 tbs. soy sauce (plus more for sprinkling later)
  • 1/2 tbs. oyster sauce
  • 1 tsp. orange zest
  • 1 tsp. grated ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp. ground chili pepper (hot)
  • Mint leaves from 3 sprigs, chopped
  • Cilantro leaves from 3 sprigs, chopped
  • 2/3 cup of scallions, chopped
  • 1 lb. chicken thighs, but crosswise into short strips
  • One lime, cut into wedges for juicing into sauce at the end
  1. Mix first 5 ingredients in medium bowl and add in chicken to coat. Let stand for 5-10 minutes.
  2. Add chicken and garlic to wok and cook over medium-high heat. When partially cooked, add orange, ginger, mint, ground chili, cilantro and scallions.
  3. Drain sauce through a fine mesh sieve and put chicken and veggies into a serving bowl. Add sauce back into wok and reduce, sprinkling in some lime juice and soy sauce, to thicken. When reduced, drip over chicken and serve.

chicken!

8 thoughts on “It went straight to my head. Cilantro-Lime-Scallion-Mint-Chili-Orange Chicken

  1. this sounds wonderful and perfect for spring/summer – i’ll give it a go soon! i like that you used thighs and not yucky white meat – i am SO not a fan of the chicken breast…

  2. Janelle- Not spicy at all.. though since I bought the dried hot chilis and started using them in everything, my spicy tolerance may have gone up. I think the dish would work just as well without any chili.

    Radish- Not a fan of chicken breast either.. maybe if it’s wrapped up in cheese!

  3. I really need to start doing more of this. I am so dependent on recipes…you have inspired me with your talent and luck to give it a try more often.

  4. I love the name….it really says it all!! I do that sometimes too, just toss a bunch of stuff in a pan and cross my fingers. Sounds like this one really worked!

  5. Kirsten & Kristen – Thanks for the inspiring words! And I love that your names are so similar and you commented right after one another (I guess that makes me a real dork!)

    Kate – The fingers-crossed method is a trademark in my kitchen, LOL

  6. Oh my this sounds so wonderful. It made my mouth water just reading it. Be back going to the store to pick up a few things. 🙂
    I will let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

