Pasta · Recipe

Cremini Marscapone Spaghetti (PPN18!)

Sometimes it’s just too much. Finding recipes, cooking, eating, and taking pictures? And all after a hard day’s work? (Okay, I work from home with no commute and in my PJs most of the day, but I’m really trying to make excuses for not having great pictures here so cut me some slack!)

While cooking up some pasta to celebrate Presto Pasta Night and my working out for a whole hour on Monday and Tuesday, I became so hungry that I gobbled dinner up before snapping a decent shot. Wrenching myself out of a carb-induced frenzy, I realized before my last few bites were gone that I needed a shot and I photographed my mostly empty plate. I almost decided to throw this post out, but I really wanted to participate in Ruth’s event, so I’m writing it anyway! I did get a nice shot of the mushrooms before the grumbling in my stomach took over my brain.

This dish is light and perfect for summer nights. Arugula contrasts with the creamy marscapone cheese and woodsy mushrooms. I’ve made this before, adding some chopped bacon to give it more oomph, but on hot summer nights, I enjoy this light, vegetarian version.

Cremini Marscapone Spaghetti (partially pictured)

  • One bunch arugula (about 4 cups) coarsely chopped
  • 2-3 Tbsp. marscapone cheese
  • 1 Ā¼ cremini mushrooms, slices
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 lb. spaghetti
  • Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese for sprinkling
  • Good olive oil
  • Ā½ tsp. salt
  1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and salt and cook, stirring frequently, until mushrooms are soft. Add garlic and cook until most of the liquid has evaporated.
  2. After pasta is cooked, add back into pot and toss pasta with some added olive oil, mushrooms, arugula, and cheese. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Cremini Marscapone Spaghetti (PPN18!)

  1. It does look “too good to wait for a picture” scrumptious and I love the bowl too! Thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights.

  2. I know how you feel about taking pictures, you can usually tell how hungry I am by the quality of mine. Sometimes you have to make the food the priority, since that is what it is all about right?

  3. I am so glad you didn’t throw the post out! You did make me laugh, although I have done it myself, whoops! I will give the recipe a go. Nice and simple for after a late night at work!

Leave a Reply

