Holiday · Sweet

Happy Holidays! Chocolate Chip Cookies Worthy of Angels

I’ve been thinking about angels a lot lately. Jim and I recently finished watching the HBO series of Tony Kushner’s Angels in America, and it’s the type of film that stays with you for a while after it ends. The play, set in New York City during the 80’s, focuses around Prior Walter, a gay man with AIDS, and his partner Louis who, fearing the ickyness of the disease, leaves Prior. At the same time, the story also follows a Mormon couple from Salt Lake City who’ve moved to NYC. The wife is addicted to Valium and going crazy, and the husband (a Republican) is a closeted gay man. Oh, and this Republican is friends with Roy Cohn.

Not the typical setting for angels, you say? Well, it turns out that Prior is a prophet; a beautiful (and somewhat ditsy) angel visits him frequently. If you haven’t seen Angels in America, you must, because I just cannot do justice to Kushner’s philosophical ideas about New York City, America, God.

Since watching this movie, and being so moved by it, I’ve been thinking about angels a lot. Could I believe in angels? That sounds like blasphemy to my atheist ears! Once again, I headed to the dictionary to try and make sense of my thoughts.

an·gel

n.

  1. A typically benevolent celestial being that acts as an intermediary between heaven and earth, especially in Christianity, Judaism, Islam, and Zoroastrianism.
  2. A representation of such a being, especially in Christianity, conventionally in the image of a human figure with a halo and wings.
  3. angels Christianity The last of the nine orders of angels in medieval angelology. From the highest to the lowest in rank, the orders are: seraphim, cherubim, thrones, dominations or dominions, virtues, powers, principalities, archangels, and angels.
  4. A guardian spirit or guiding influence.
    1. A kind and lovable person.
    2. One who manifests goodness, purity, and selflessness.
  5. Informal A financial backer of an enterprise, especially a dramatic production or a political campaign.

Look! I thought. I can believe in angels. Definition 5 clearly states that an angel can exist in my frame of mind, while definition 6 makes oh, so much sense in relation to Angels in America (isn’t it wonderful when you unexpectantly learn a new definition?)

There’s something so impressive about the symbol of angels. The word comes from the Greek “angelos,” or “messenger” and I love believing in a being that pushes me further than my usual realm of thought—angels, in the form of books, people, art, that send me messages and broaden my understanding of the world.

I believe I meet angels all the time—two of whom sent me and Jim the gorgeous Christmas card above. Erica and Jim Haba, Erica a painter and Jim a poet, created this work to send around to their friends and family at Christmas, reminding us of the angels of definition 5. I adore Erica’s angels, with their exquisite tawny faces, and Jim’s poem perfectly (almost eerily) captures my groping to decipher angels lately—as well as makes a much-needed statement on the affairs of America today.

These angel too

marvelous, holy, ecstatic

determined, generous, enduring,

alien, penniless, vagrant,

unschooled, unsponsored, undocumented

immigrants among us. -Jim Haba, 2007

This holiday, I hope to remember the angels that wander around earth everyday. The angels that help us understand, respect, love, and deserve their kindnesses. This holiday, I also hope to give them cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookies Worthy of Angels

makes about 40-50 cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup packed brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar
½ tsp baking soda
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2½ cups AP flour
1 bag chocolate chunks (bigger than chips), about 12 oz. or 2 cupsMethod

Preheat oven to 375º. Grease a cookie sheet (or two if you can fit them in your oven).

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter for 1 minute. Add brown sugar, granulated sugar, and baking soda. Beat until combined well. Ad eggs and vanilla and beat until doubled or tripled in size. Beat in however much flour you can (until the mix is to thick to beat) and then switch to a wooden spoon and mix in the rest of the flour. Fold in the chocolate chunks.

Roll cookies into small round balls (about the size of regular chocolate truffles.) Place 2 inches apart on cookie sheet. Bake each batch of cookies 8-10 minutes, or until edges are lightly browned. Transfer to a wire rack to let cool. ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAYS!!!


7 thoughts on “Happy Holidays! Chocolate Chip Cookies Worthy of Angels

  1. I loved this post. I beleave in angels. I guess definition #1, #2, #3, and #5 work for me.
    Have not seen the movie but I think I’ll pick it up for this Christmas week. Under your recommendation of course. Merry Christmas!

  2. Hi! I’m new to blogging, and I really like your blog. I especially like the write-up about angels. I, too, believe in angels. Two or three times in my life, when I’ve really needed a friend or someone to help me through a difficult situation, a person has shown up who I never new before and helped me through the situation. When everything was resolved, that person just seemed to leave, and I could not even find them. Seems kind of strange.

    When you get a chance, please check out my website, http://www.ajourneythruthekitchen.com

    Maggie

  3. I completely believe in angels and also believe that every person we interact with has a purpose in our life… sometimes we figure it out sometimes we don’t. We just have to be in tune!
    Merry Christmas to you!

  4. Dear Robin,

    Thanks again for responding so generously and thoughtfully to our card in your blog. That you did so in connection with such a appealing chocolate chip cookie recipe is a further compliment.

    Thanks, too, to you and Jim for the Christmas gift bag. We are often slow to try new things, so it was not until Saturday evening that we dug into the bag and opened your wonderful cranberry-apple sauce: simply the best we ever had.

    We were just going to try it, but we ended up happily eating the whole jar with some (also delicious) lowfat moussaka that Erica had prepared earlier in the week.

    From what we have seen and tasted you definitely have a great future in food!

    Love and Happy New Year to you and Jim,

    Jim & Erica

Leave a Reply

