Comfort Food · Food · Light Meals · Recipe · Soups · Vegetables

Car Accidents and Winter Squash Soup

Before I begin my post, I’d like to introduce my blogging buddy Deborah, from Taste and Tell. We got paired up in the Adopt-a-Blogger event and I couldn’t be happier. In the “about me” section of her blog, the first sentence reads “I am not a food snob. I just love to eat and love to cook.” I love that. Her website is full of wonderful recipes, some advanced, some easy, all delicious. I especially love her Shaggy Dog candies and her Tuscan Pasta with Sausage. Check her out!

On Tuesday, I was in a car accident. I was driving on the highway to work when the car in front of mine stopped short. I braked and stopped in time. But before I had time to pat myself on the back for leaving enough space between my car and the car ahead of me, the guy behind slammed into my Honda’s rear end. I got a bit banged up, hurting my hip and taking the ambulance to the hospital, but I’m okay albeit very sore. I’m home and not getting up off the couch, with some nice painkillers to leave me woozy and a box of chocolates. I’m game for watching TV and reading but I don’t think I’ll be doing much more than that for a few days. Luckily, I have a boyfriend who cooks me eggs for breakfast and steak for dinner and I even have a few posts that were sitting on the backburner—including this delicious squash soup.

I made this soup on Sunday afternoon, preparing myself for a week of work lunches. I didn’t make it to a week of work after the accident, though the soup wouldn’t have lasted that long anyway—we ate it up within a two days!

I wanted to make the soup without a recipe, and guesstimating, I figured caramelized onions would give a certain depth to the full-bodied, sweet squashes. The result was just what I wanted. You could taste that the squash was roasted prior to cooking and each of the few flavors added a special note to the soup–the black pepper bit at the sweetened edges of the caramelized onions and squash, the nutmeg added warmth, and the thyme and sage added a wintry, piny component. Whole milk creamed up the dish a little—and I loved it in there—but I’m sure you could make it without to save calories.

I recently broke my blender—burning out the motor pureeing broccoli—and was very upset over it. I’d just begun to obsess over pureed soups and didn’t know how I could survive without a blender until my next paycheck. Then I remembered I had a stick blender! I’d never used it to puree a soup before but had heard about it from others. With a slap to my forehead, exclaiming “Duh!,” I blended the soup with the stick and it was creamy and smoother than any I’ve made with the stand blender. Now I’m thankful that the damn thing broke and will never go back to pureeing a soup any other way. Once I get better, I’m excited to remake all my past soups with the stick blender—if you haven’t used it for a soup yet (though probably you have and I’m the only dull one here!) you have to try it out!

Squash Soup

serves 6-8 as a first course or side dish

Ingredients

  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled, cored, and cut up
  • 1 medium acorn squash, peeled, cored, and cut up
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 large onion, cut in half and sliced
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 sprig thyme
  • 1 tablespoon fresh sage, finely chopped
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg, or to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

Preheat oven to 350°. Spread squash upon a lightly oiled baking sheet. Sprinkle with kosher salt and a little pepper. Roast in oven for 15-20 minutes, or until beginning to brown.

Meanwhile, sauté onion in a large soup pot with butter over medium heat, until they begin to caramelize. Add in garlic, thyme, and sage. When onions are starting to brown, add in roasted squash and chicken broth, scraping bottom of the pot to mix in the browned pieces. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for about 20 minutes of until everything is very tender. Remove thyme.

With a stick blender, or in batches in a stand blender, puree the soup until completely smooth. Add milk and nutmeg and stir. Taste and season with salt and pepper. Serve with sage leaves as a garnish.

20 thoughts on “Car Accidents and Winter Squash Soup

  1. Sorry to hear about the accident. I was in one over 3 years ago and I will tell you the best advice I got was to get an attorney!
    BTW the soup looks amazing. I might try that this weekend.

  2. I’m glad to hear that nothing major happened – I hope you are up and around soon!!

    I got really into squash this year, which is strange because I never have been before. Maybe it’s all the food blogs… I have a stick blender. We received it as a wedding gift, and I almost took it back because I didn’t think I’d ever use it. But I was wrong – it does work perfectly for soup!!

  3. Wow.

    Sorry about your accident. I really hope you feel better. I got rear-ended by a guy a year ago. It was more of a hassle with the rental, the collision center, and dealing with the insurance guy. I do wish you the best!

  4. As before, this looks great! I’ve been in the market for an immersion blender for a few months now, simply because I want to make soups like this one. One of these days, ya’ know?

  5. This soup is my Saturday project! I have butternut squash in the fridge that needs to be used up. Love the idea of roasting it with onions. I have a feeling this could become my new favorite squash soup:)

  6. Oh lord! I’m so sorry to hear about the accident! But at least you’ve got a good man and some “mommy’s little helpers” to ease the pain. I hope you’re up and at’em soon so you can play with the stick blender, they’re amazing. Feel better 🙂

  7. So sorry to hear about your accident! Hope you are feeling better 🙂 I adore squash soup but have found butternut squash here only once 😦 Anyways, I’m always keeping my eyes peeled…yours sounds delicious!

    Stick blenders rock! I love mine 🙂

  8. Thank you everyone for the wonderful comments! You all really help to make me feel better. I’m feeling a bit better today and I hope that I’ll be back in the kitchen soon!

  9. I couldn’t help thinking I would like egg dumplings in here….I make a similar soup with pumpkin…it was my mother-in-laws family traditional and she made egg dumplings to go in hers….
    it’s making my mouth water looking at the pictures!

  10. My girlfriend got into an accident last year and she’s still feeling the effects in her ankle. Hope you feel better! Besides that, great looking soup!

  11. Aaaaah, how scary! I’m relieved to see that you’re doing better now.

    This soup looks so wonderful! I tried to make something similar but it didn’t turn out so hot. Now I know what was missing, caramelized onions.

  12. I discovered this recipe on your blog last year and made it several times throughout the fall/winter. I’m back at it again! My kitchen smells heavenly! Thank you for a recipe that has stood the test of time and become a regular dish in my kitchen!

Leave a Reply

