Easy · Food · Light Meals · Sides

Barbecue Beans

I have a horrible cold-slash-probably bronchitis that’s ruined my weekend. I was planning on writing a nice long post, really a love-poem, to one of my favorite dishes—Barbecue Beans. Thinking that barbecue beans never get the flattery they deserve, I was going to write a post about how remarkably delicious they are, with their notes of slight sweetness and subtle spicyness, their hint of mustardy bitterness. I was going to tell you how warmly substantial these beans are. I eat them almost every afternoon for lunch and I was going to rave that they never get “old”.

I was going to good-naturedly cajole you into making them, telling you that all the ingredients are probably in your kitchen right now. Everything you need for this recipe can be bought and then forgot about until you have time to make it. There’s no ingredient with a looming expiration date forcing you to make the beans immediately, just in case you get a horrible cold-slash-probably bronchitis and wanted to order in.

I was going to do all that but, in between hacking coughs and nose-blowings, decided against it. I need my rest you know. So, here’s the recipe. It’s wonderful. Jimmy is making me a huge pot of it tonight—to sustain us for the week. And I’m going back to bed.

Barbecue Beans

serves 4-6//adapted from the Moosewood Low-Fat Favorites

After you make this once, you may want to adjust the ingredient amounts. I fiddled around with it and find this version my favorite but you may want it sweeter or spicier. Also, this recipe relies heavily upon the BBQ sauce you use, so pick your favorite.

  • 1 teaspoon oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2-4 cloves garlic, depending on their size, minced
  • 1 can (15 oz.) Navy beans, drained
  • 1/3 cup BBQ sauce, I use Bone Suckin’ Sauce Thick and Spicy (if you don’t use a spicy BBQ sauce you may want to add more hot sauce)
  • 1/4 cup mustard, I like dijon here
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  • a few drops of hot sauce, or more to taste

Heat oil in medium saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and cook 3-4 minutes. Add garlic and cook until tender and onions are translucent. Add beans, BBQ sauce, mustard, and maple syrup. Cover and cook over low heat for 30 minutes. Uncover, add cider vinegar and hot sauce. Taste and adjust seasonings if you want. Serve with white or brown rice.

17 thoughts on “Barbecue Beans

  1. awww, you’re sick? 😦 you just got OFF the couch. sorry robin.

    the beans look marvelous though. funny how they “never get old.” I can do that with what I eat for lunch, but if I had the same thing for dinner day after day, I’d get annoyed.

    feel better soon, my dear!

  2. Thanks Amanda- that’s what I’m hoping for!

    Melissa- I know, it’s just NOT fair! My back is finally feeling back to normal though (cross my fingers) so there’s that. And I have to admit that I have these beans for dinner at least one a week as well as for almost every lunch, haha. I love having the same lunch everyday though, it keeps me on schedule. Yeah, I’m weird like that. 🙂

  3. I love BBQ beans, baked beans … I have the recipe for my favorite ones, from my uncle on my mom’s side. They just take so long I haven’t found the time to put them together yet. Maybe I should do that, eh?

    Sorry to hear you’re under the weather again! Hopefully, Jim’s keeping you under blankets and has a constant supply of Hot Totties flowing!

  4. Oh no! Sounds like you have what I am just getting over! I forgotten you live in NJ too! It seems like this awful cold/chest thing has been going around for several weeks now! I know a bunch of people who got it! Feel better!

  5. Sorry to hear you’re sick! I came down with the flu a couple days ago so my weekend was shot too. I love barbecue beans and I really don’t know why I don’t make them very often. I’m saving this one to del.ico.us for a day when I’m feeling well enough to cook! Thanks for a great recipe!

  6. Ilya- Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

    Patrick: Thanks for writing! I love the sauces—the butcher at Whole Foods recommended them to me a while back and I’ve been hooked since. I’ll have to check out your recipes!

  7. I haven’t had good BBQ beans in a-g-e-s, but you’ve made me want them *right now*. Shame it’s early morning and I’m at my desk working. Hope the bronchial ugliness is improving.

Leave a Reply

