Seeduction.

I always admire those bloggers who give us two-part posts about foods. They show us something—a sauce, some ice cream—and tell us that it went so well with…something, but we’ll hear about that tomorrow. And then the next day, right on cue, we get the perfectly paired pasta, or chocolate cake. I really admire that.

For me, I can’t think that far ahead. I made that cherry jam the other day, ate a few spoonfuls, and then stuck it in the fridge door. I had made it because I was afraid my cherries would go bad, I didn’t have what to do with it in mind. And then I effectively forgot all about it.

Yesterday, for a completely unrelated reason, I went about making a seed bread. There’s a bread from Whole Foods that Jim and I buy weekly called “Seeduction” bread. Besides blushing whenever I have to order it from the nice, portly employee in the bread section, I’m beginning to hate buying this bread for the cost. It’s about 6 dollars for a medium sized loaf. What with my accident, and all the money I’ve been spending to get better lately, that’s a lot of money for a bread that usually goes stale before the two of us can finish it. But don’t get me wrong, it’s good bread—chewy, wholesome, very tasty—and I don’t mind paying for quality food. Well, at least I don’t mind paying for quality food that I otherwise don’t want to (or can’t) make myself. I’ll pay loads for a good chocolate or coffee, or cheese. But I don’t spend my money on chicken stocks, sauces, or prepared foods. I make these things myself, for a fraction of the price, and they taste better than store-bought.

That got me thinking—why not make my own “Seeduction” bread? Surely it’d be sexier for me, rather than that nice, portly gentleman, to present Jim with the “Seeduction.” But I’d always shied away from making my own whole-grain bread because of some gut-feeling that it couldn’t be done without a kitchen-aid mixer. I never, however, looked far enough to figure out the truth. Whole-grain breads are easily, wonderfully made in a food processor. The blade of the processor has enough “umpha” to work the dough, kneading it further than my puny arms could take. It takes all of a few minutes. The result is a hearty, soft in the middle, seed-riddled bread that could easily pass for an entire lunch-time meal. And, like icing on the cake, it is the perfect bread to slather cherry jam all over. The sweet, dark jam is a match made in paradise with the earthy bread. I wish I could take credit for planning that in advance. But I’ll settle for the happy surprise.

Seeduction Bread

makes 2 round loafs//adapted from The Bread Bible by Beth Hensperger

  • 1/2 cup lukewarm water
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast (one packet)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 3/4 cups bread flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup couscous or bulgur or cracked wheat
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 cup sunflower oil
  • 1 cup cool water
  • 1 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 3 tablespoons poppy seeds
  • 1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons raw pumpkin seeds

Pour lukewarm water into a 2-cup measure and sprinkle with yeast. Mix in honey and let sit for about 10 minutes, so it gets foamy.

Put flours, couscous and salt in the bowl of your food processor and pulse to combine them. Pour the sunflower oil and cool water into the yeast mixture and then, while the processor is running, pour everything through the feed tube of your food processor lid in a slow and steady stream. Let it run until the dough stops sticking to the outside walls of the processor and forms a ball. Add a teaspoon or two of water if it’s not sticky enough to form the ball, or flour if it looks too wet. Let the processor run for another minute to knead the dough.

Remove the dough ball to a greased bowl and flip it once so all sides of the dough get a little greased. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let the dough rise in a warm spot for 2 hours.

Line a baking sheet with parchment or a Silpat mat. Turn the dough out onto a clean work surface. Knead the dough a few times and form into a large oval. Sprinkle with the seeds (reserving 3 tablespoons pumpkin seeds) and fold in half. Knead the dough so that you distribute the seeds evenly. Divide the dough into two and form tight round balls. Coarsly chop the remaining pumpkin seeds and roll the tops of the dough balls in them. (You could substitute poppy seeds here.) Place on the baking sheet, cover loosely with plastic wrap, and let rise for 45 minutes to an hour.

Preheat the oven to 375ΒΊF. Bake the breads on the center rack for 35 minutes, or until they are golden and sound hollow when tapped. Cool before slicing.

23 thoughts on “Seeduction.

  1. Oooooh! That is wonderful and I can’t wait to try this! I love bread that I don;t have to and knead!!!

    I know about the financial burdens an accident can cause but it will get better.

  2. I have a huge love affair with Whole Foods Seeduction bread. This looks great but how close in taste to the loaves you buy in the store is this? I hate making bread but if this is a seeduction copycat I will happily change my tune πŸ™‚

  3. I agree, seducing your boy with your own homemade bread is far better than the whole-foods one. plus, you can slightly exaggerate how long and hard you worked on the bread, just slaving away… he doesn’t need to know about the handy dandy food processor, right?

  4. Mmm…! Your bread looks perfect! I also like the Wholefoods version… was this a good approximation? Definitely something to try next winter (in summer my sixth floor unairconditioned kitchen is a no-bake zone)!

  5. Thanks for all the comments… (Melissa, it worked, yay!)

    To answer the Whole Foods question—the loaf is similar, but lighter, less sweet, and a bit “healthier” tasting… which makes it all the more easier for me to slather with jam! You could mess around with the seeds to make the flavor even more similar, since this one does have a prominent pumpkin-seed taste. I’m planning on fooling around with it a bit and will comment with any tips here. πŸ™‚

  6. Oh I’m having bread envy…
    I am having a baking crises, meaning, I can’t bake and I really want that to change. You inspire me! Yummy looking, truly.

  7. Jeez! This looks amazing, and regardless of whether you had a plan for that lovely cherry jam to go with this or not, it all works out in the end. Very nice.

  8. We’d like to invite you to participate in our July berry recipe contest. All competitors will be placed on our blogroll, and the winner will receive a fun prize! Please email me, sophiekiblogger@gmail.com, if you’re interested. Feel free to check out our blog for more details. (Click on my name in the message header link to visit our blog. πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks for the recipe! I made it this weekend and will be posting about how delicious it was! It was my first attempt at a yeast bread and it tasted a smidge..well,..’yeasty.’ What do I need to do to get completely rid of that taste? Thanks again!

    • Hi Tara, So glad you tried the recipe! But, I’m very amateur at baking so I’m not sure why it tasted too yeasty. Maybe it rose too long — I think that can cause it…

  10. Just to let you know…Whole Foods Seeduction Bread freezes like a dream. I HATE frozen/thawed breads. They never taste the same. But when I buy Seeduction Bread, I have them slice it. They place it in a plastic bag, and then I slide it into one of the paper-plasticene bags available there at the bread counter.I save the plastic wraps from each loaf of Seeduction bread, and I slide my just-purchased bread
    into a second plastic bag, back into the paper Bakery bag,and freeze it. When I get to the last two pieces of Seeduction I take one of the frozen loaves, still bagged,and thaw it overnight in the fridge. It is superb! As though it were just purchased. I don’t know about the authenticity of taste of your bread. It looks yummy; and I’ll have to try it. However, the actual recipe for Seeduction Bread has several additional kinds of seeds, so the nutritional content will be different. I follow a food plan to maintain a 70# weight loss. I count each slice of Seeduction bread as 75 calories. (There may be a few more calories per slice, but at 75 cals/slice, I have not regained any weight.)

Leave a Reply

