Food · Light Meals · Main Course · Recipe · Vegetarian

Peach Puff Pastry Pizza

I’ve been feeling better great lately. I’m still sore in my lower back/hip area, but mostly after I work out, and hardly enough to get upset about. And yes, I’m even working out. This, for me, is a happiness that has me giddy—when you write a food blog that features bacon on more posts than not, working out is an important part of your life. You may have also noticed, I’ve been busy. Since starting my new site over a week ago, I’ve been scouring the web for drool-worthy food photography, reading endless articles on food, and spending way too much time in front of my computer screen—it’s been a blast.

I’ve met great new people with gorgeous blogs, I’ve formed relationships with bloggers who I knew of but hadn’t spoken with before, I’ve emailed more people in 5 days than I have ever emailed in my life. I’ve gotten compliments, hate-mail, encouragement, and deterrents. It’s been a roller-coaster. And I haven’t cooked anything that takes more than 20 minutes.

This is not to say, however, that I didn’t eat well this week. For one, I went to Bouley Upstairs, and had some phenomenal sushi that was accompanied by a burger (the charm of this place is that you can order both.) And, I had this pizza.

This peach puff pastry pizza to be exact, with locally grown arugula, red onion, and fresh goat and fontina cheese. To say it was delicious would be an extreme understatement. It was superb—gobbled up within minutes. The peppery arugula cut through the buttery puff pastry and creamy cheeses, the red onion was sharp and clean, and the peaches added a sweet level that transcended the meal way up above your ordinary delicious.

And it was easy. Like, you’ll never want to eat fast food again when you can have this, easy. A piece of week-night perfection.

Peach Puff Pastry Pizza

  • 2 peaches, cut into thin slices
  • 1/2 pound of arugula
  • 1 red onion, sliced thinly
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 cup safflower oil
  • salt, pepper
  • 1 package puff pastry, thawed and flattened with a rolling pin so it is about as big as your sheet pan
  • 3 ounces fontina cheese, grated
  • 3 ounces fresh goat cheese

Preheat the oven to 400ΒΊF. Marinate the peach, arugula, and onion in oil, salt, and pepper while you thaw and prepare your puff pastry

Roll out your puff pastry and set on a greased baking sheet, rolling the very edges to make a crust. Spread the marinated mixture on the puff pastry. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.

Remove from oven. Sprinkle on the fontina cheese and then crumble the goat cheese over that. Put back in the oven for another 5-7 minutes so that the fontine cheese melts (goat cheese will never really melt.) Let stand for 5-10 minutes before cutting and serving. Goes very nicely with a good Sauvignon Blanc.

33 thoughts on “Peach Puff Pastry Pizza

  1. I am so glad you are doing better. The new site is great!!!

    This Peach Puff Pastry Pizza is outrageous. What an incredible mix of flavors. I bet it was delicious!!!

  2. I’m so glad that things are going great for you! Nothing like a little busy website to keep and a nice endorphin rush from the workouts to get you smiling and feeling fantastic.

  3. Wow, this looks so good. The idea of a puff pastry and peaches yielding a pizza is alone breathtaking, but the arugula and red onions really add something. This is on my to-try list. To-try soon.

    Also, I love the new site!

  4. Robin, it is great to hear that you are doing great. It really is. It’s funny, but, one tends to feel protective over one’s blog-buddies. It’s kinda selfish, kinda weird, hopefully not creepy. πŸ™‚

    This pizza sounds like it needs to be on my to-do list. It may need some bacon though.

  5. WOW! That is one gorgeous pizza! I wonder how it would taste with strawberries? πŸ™‚

    I love the new site, btw… and not just because you ran my tomatoes, either. As I commented there, I really like your editorial eye. And your captions are great!

  6. Hi there! Just stumbled across your blog! That peach puff pizza looks absolutely delicioussss!! Great pictures! πŸ™‚ You seem to have some inspiring food recipes here! ^.^
    *adds to blogroll*
    πŸ™‚

  7. I’m with Mr. Orph – overly protective and nearly creepy. πŸ˜› But I can’t tell you what a big smile it puts on my face to know you are doing better. πŸ˜€

    I’ll have to make this one for just me. Looks amazing.

  8. What an interesting pizza. I’ve been dying to make pizza recently, especially since coming back home to NY. We’ve got a grill here and I can’t wait to try some grilled pizza!

  9. Bacon is not a bad idea, Donald.

    You hear that, Honey! Next time: bacon. Or maybe pancetta. Crispy, tiny pieces. Lightly sprinkled.

  10. Thanks everyone for the comments, it was really fantastic and I’m so happy to be feeling better.

    Donald & Melissa: Not creepy at all… I feel like I know my blogger buddies better than my “real-life” friends! Haha, maybe I need to get out more….

    Ann: I’m sure strawberries would be great, though they might paint the pizza red!

    Nick: I just saw grilled pizza’s on Boy Meets Grill yesterday… it looked great.

    And gotcha Jimbo ::::writes note to herself::: “More bacon.”

  11. Puff pastery, peaches, butter? Hold me back! I’ve been “lo-carbing” in for weeks, I feel week just looking at this. I thought the pictures of it uncooked looked good, and then I saw the “after” shots. You’re killing me…in a good way.

  12. Robin:

    Don’t let the hate mails deter you. Keep doing the amazing things that you do!
    Puff pastry pizza…right when I was contemplating eating nothing but salad for a week..This is going to be a problem πŸ™‚

  13. that looks fantastic! what a surprising combination… from the title i thought this was going to be some sort of dessert, but then i see goat cheese!? incredible.

    good job! (and don’t the the hate mail get you down– we love your site!)

    michelle
    thelittledish.com

  14. Yay for working out! I was fighting some dread summer cold all week and couldn’t go running, and it made me fell horrid. I’m so glad you’re feeling better! And what a way to celebrate, this sounds uh-may-zing! I would never think to put peaches on pizza. But, now, it’s all I can think about…

Leave a Reply

