“Busy”

I’m sorry. I don’t have much for you—I just couldn’t stay away any longer. You go for so long without blogging and then you wake up one morning just aching to say hello.

I’ve been cooking—a seven course celebration dinner for Jim’s dad’s birthday—but I haven’t been taking pictures. I hadn’t even unpacked my camera until a few days ago.

I’ve been busy, you know. Not so much with, erm, unpacking, but with other busy-making stuff, like swimming in the Delaware, or lying about the porch, or reading the 562-page novel The Story of Edgar Sawtelle within a week. I’ve been busy walking through the woods with my dog, watching the Olympics, driving around to local markets for their fresh produce, meat, and things. I’ve been busying (slowly) putting together my new apartment. I’ve been busying oogling the table that Jim is making for our new kitchen. And this weekend I’ll be busying staining it (and when it’s all done I’ll be busying photographing it for you!)

I found that popcorn is the best thing for times when you are too busy, or too lazy, to make yourself some real food. It’s actually best tossed in a spicy mix and served with your favorite book, an August afternoon, and a tall glass of iced tea. And if you’ll excuse me, I need to get back to that right now.

Spicy Popcorn

makes one bag of microwave popcorn

  • 1/4 teaspoon of your favorite curry powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay spice
  • a dash of pepper, a big pinch of salt, and a sprinkling of sugar to taste
  • 1/8 or more of red hot chile powder, if you dare
  • 1 bag of microwave popcorn
  • melted butter, as much as you like, if you, unlike me, are not on weight watchers

Combine the first five ingredients in a small bowl. Taste and adjust if you want. Pop the popcorn in the microwave. When it’s done and just cool enough for you to touch the bag without severely burning your fingers, open it up, pour in the spice mix, and shake! Serve in your favorite popcorn bowl, or right out of the bag.

17 thoughts on ““Busy”

  1. Ah Robin. I smiled deeply reading this post, thinking about how much you’re enjoying yourself, how happy and relaxed you seem, when just two months ago things weren’t so bright.

    I’m thrilled for you, really. Keep this up and don’t be in any hurry to nourish us when you’re doing such a great job of nourishing yourself. 😉

  2. I have a set of those Pyrex rooster bowls 🙂

    (I swiped them from my mom when I left home. She was really pissed when she figured out where they’d gone… which still makes me grin.)

  3. Melissa – Thank you so much! I’m having such a good time nourishing!

    Anita – We stole them from Jim’s grandmother! Heh!

    Coffeepot – Thank you, and you’ve just tempted me to walk over and jump in right now!

    Rachel – Hah, me too… me too…

    Ann – Thank you, busying relaxing is the best way to be, eh?

    Kristen – Maybe we should all start a “I eat popcorn for lunch and I’m proud of it” campaign. Hehe.

  4. i love old bay popcorn! it hits the spot! in fact i adore popcorn. i would live off of it if i could! && yours looks especially tasty! you should try it with oldbay, onion powder and dried dill! Thats a great combo too!

  5. You’ve got the best type of busy there…glad to see you are enjoying it 🙂 Take your time and go for another swim in that lovely looking river in your amazing-sounding backyard!

    Delicious popcorn 🙂

  6. kayotic says:

    Not in a million years would I have thought of adding curry powder and cumin to popcorn. I even have a can of old bay spice an American friend mailed me some time ago. I am definitely gonna try this.

  7. Pingback: Pop! « FP Daily

Leave a Reply

