Omnivore’s Hundred

So, I know I’m like so five years ago but I finally got around to completing my Omnivore’s Hundred list and it was sort of shocking to me – there’s so much food that I still need to try!! I mean, seriously, I’ve never had nettle tea, or borscht, or (gasp!) clotted cream?!?  Outrageous!

Take a look at my list and feel free to shame me for not trying your favorites – and let me know what you have (or haven’t) eaten lately!

Omnivore’s Hundred

1. Venison
2. Nettle tea
3. Huevos rancheros
4. Steak tartare*
5. Crocodile (does Alligator count?)
6. Black pudding
7. Cheese fondue
8. Carp
9. Borscht (I’m seriously surprised at myself for this one.)
10. Baba ghanoush*
11. Calamari*
12. Phở
13. PB&J sandwich
14. Aloo gobi
15. Hot dog from a street cart
16. Epoisses*
17. Black truffle*
18. Fruit wine made from something other than grapes
19. Steamed pork buns*
20. Pistachio ice cream
21. Heirloom tomatoes
22. Fresh wild berries*
23. Foie gras
24. Rice and beans
25. Brawn, or head cheese
26. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper (not a pleasant experience)
27. Dulce de leche
28. Oysters
29. Baklava
30. Bagna cauda
31. Wasabi peas
32. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl
33. Salted lassi
34. Sauerkraut*
35. Root beer float (more specifically – a STEWART’S root beer float)*
36. Cognac with a fat cigar
37. Clotted cream tea (clotted cream is on my short list of things to try)
38. Vodka jelly/Jell-O (have had this way more times than I’d like to admit)
39. Gumbo*
40. Oxtail*
41. Curried goat
42. Whole insects
43. Phaal
44. Goat’s milk*
45. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/€80/$120 or more***
46. Fugu
47. Chicken tikka masala
48. Eel
49. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut
50. Sea urchin*
51. Prickly pear
52. Umeboshi
53. Abalone (caution: it’s overfished)
54. Paneer
55. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal
56. Spaetzle
57. Dirty gin martini
58. Beer above 8% ABV*
59. Poutine
60. Carob chips
61. S’mores * (no campfire is complete without)
62. Sweetbreads* (the ones at Babbo are worth the trip)
63. Kaolin
64. Currywurst
65. Durian
66. Frogs’ legs
67. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake
68. Haggis
69. Fried plantain*


70. Chitterlings, or andouillette*
71. Gazpacho*
72. Caviar and blini*
73. Louche absinthe
74. Gjetost, or brunost
75. Roadkill
76. Baijiu
77. Hostess Fruit Pie
78. Snail*
79. Lapsang souchong*
80. Bellini
81. Tom yum
82. Eggs Benedict
83. Pocky
84. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant*
85. Kobe beef
86. Hare
87. Goulash*
88. Flowers
89. Horse
90. Criollo chocolate
91. Spam
92. Soft shell crab*
93. Rose harissa
94. Catfish*
95. Mole poblano
96. Bagel and lox
97. Lobster Thermidor
98. Polenta*
99. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee
100. Snake

7 thoughts on “Omnivore’s Hundred

  1. Come over to Scotland on holiday sometime and we can sort out the haggis and black pudding thing. Both of which are absolutely delicious, BTW. 🙂

    Still haven’t blogged this list. Must remember to do so…

  2. dinainsuburbia says:

    Huevos Rancheros (or at least my easy version) is my go-to, quick-fix dinner…. I always have the fixings on hand to whip it up quickly! I don’t know if I necessarily do it the proper way, but I cook eggs over easy, and once I flip throw in a 1/2 cup of Rosa Mexicana salsa (my favorite)- then I throw that over a corn tortilla that I spread some refried beans on… yum!

  3. Janel says:

    Hi sis! I’m surprised that a non-foodie such as myself has tasted quiet a few of the items on this list… but … umm…. horse? And roadkill… thats not what I think it is – is it?

    Nice pics! Is that Jim in the river out there?! 🙂

  4. I love this list. Love it, especially because I need my food dictionary to figure out what half of those foods are! And I consider myself fairlly well versed in food. HAH! Inspiring, for sho!

Leave a Reply

