Fool-proof grass-fed and a La Cense Beef Giveaway.

Anyone who reads my blog (and I’m amazed to say there are a bunch of you) knows that’s I support grass-fed beef.  I won’t belabor the subject again today.  Not everyone cares about the ethical motive for choosing grass-fed beef (though if you do, you can join the La Cense Grass-fed Party’s Moo-ovement)  I will say, though, that you shouldn’t knock it until you’ve tasted it.  And you should make sure to taste it the right way. Grass-fed beef is uber-lean and, when cooked like a grain-fatted steak, can easily dry out.  Don’t let that fact scare you away from cooking it—fool-proofing your grass-fed beef is very easy.  I recently ate a very plain, only-seasoned-with-salt-and-pepper grass fed rib-eye and petite fillet.  La Cense Beef sent Jim and me some steaks and burgers to sample after I voiced my grass-fed love on Twitter. And what’s even more awesome than that, they agreed to a giveaway on this site! All you have to do is comment on this post by Wednesday, October 29th and you’ll be entered. And if you win, though this is totally not required, I’d love for your to try your steak plain, seasoned with salt and pepper, and cooked using the tips below.  That, in my ethical meat-eating snob’s opinion, is the best way to try your first grass-fed steak.

Ok, first, you’ve got to rub oil into your steak when you season it, about 20-30 minutes before you want to cook.  (Of course you can skip this if you are marinating your steak in a marinade before cooking) Really, you can oil all steaks, since it helps the browning, but it’s essential for grass-fed, in order to prevent the steak from drying out.  This leads to another point, which is take your steak out of the refrigerator at least 20-30 minutes before you want to cook. You don’t want your steak to go right from the fridge onto the hot pan within minutes.  That wouldn’t be nice.  You’ve gotta hold hands before you get to second base, man.

Jim and I always cook our grass-fed steaks in bacon grease, and while this isn’t a necessity, it makes the steaks extra-tasty and goes even farther to prevent dryness.  Really, what can’t you improve with bacon?

Finally, a grass fed steak is done when it looks like this.

I’m not kidding.  It’ll be pinker, err redder, than you think it should be.  It’ll look very raw, while not feeling like raw meat when you touch. Grass-fed is a darker color that grain-fed and grass-fed won’t have the rubbery raw taste that a grain-fed steak of this color would have.  This rib-eye, which we ate last night, was not overly-rare.  It was perfect.  Tender, juicy, meaty.  If you like your regular steaks medium-rare, this is what your steak should look like.  If you like medium, cook it a touch longer, but leave it a little pink in the middle.  And if you like your steak past medium, screw the grass-fed, screw any steak, you aren’t allowed to eat meat until you get some sense. (I know, that was mean… and okay, there is a time for well-done, but that’s during a braise and the well-done meat should never, ever, be a rib-eye.) It won’t take long to get to this doneness, grass-fed cooks very quickly, so keep you head in the game, your eye on the ball, your [insert sporting euphemism here] and don’t overcook!

If you take those precautions, your grass-fed beef should taste juicy, moist, and above all, beefy. I like to serve my grass-fed beef with a decadent, buttery side, like mashed potatoes or the butter-braised scallions that we had on Friday night (recipe will come soon).  Because grass-fed beef is leaner and more flavorful than grain-fed, you can get away with buttery, creamy sides without making dinner too-heavy.

I found that La Cense Beef is a super alternative to grain-fed.  It’s not as bold as some of the grass-fed beef I’ve gotten from local farms (but still had a ton of flavor) so it’s a great way to ease into grass-fed meat-eating.  The petite steak was tasty, but could’ve used to be marinated for an hour or so with something sweet and vinegary.  The rib-eye on the other hand, needed nothing save for salt and pepper and a quick sear.  I roundly recommend it–what a wonderful anniversary or birthday dinner it would make!

We tried the burgers on Saturday afternoon and they too were good—dense and meaty. Since they are 85% lean, we had them with cheese.  Sliced american-style cheese.  On a soft hamburger bun.  It was delicious, I just wish we had a summer day and the beach in the background.

If you are going to buy from La Cense Beef, I most recommend the rib-eye, the burgers, or any of their cheaper cuts of meat.  I’m looking forward to ordering up some short-ribs for a stick-to-my-own-ribs winter stew.

And remember! You just may be able to WIN a free sample of La Cense Beef on this blog!  Just leave a comment.  Tell me if you’ve tried La Cense Beef, or grass-fed, or if you think I should take my ethical meat-eating and shove it up a cow’s you-know-where (and if you tell me that and then win and fall in love with the stuff, I get to tell you I told you so!) I’ll pick the winner at the end of next week through a random generator.  In the meantime… check out the La Cense Moo-ovement and help make a difference in the way people eat!

56 thoughts on “Fool-proof grass-fed and a La Cense Beef Giveaway.

  1. Sophia says:

    Looks delicious! I was just watching Gourmet’s Diary of a Foodie on PBS yesterday, and they had a “Bovine Rhapsody” episode, where they talked all about the difference between grass-fed and grain raised beef. It’s crazy how much of a difference it makes!

  2. atta girl, the steak looks just perfect! Raw in the middle and nice delicious crust on the outside.

    Honestly, I prefer to have my steak with salt & pepper and possibly a tiny squeeze of lemon juice. I like to taste my beef when I am eating meat! I have never pan-fried using bacon crease but you are right, bacon does improve it all so I will have to try it. Needless to say, if I win this giveaway, I will be documenting and posting photos on my blog too. Gosh, I am so hungry now that I been salivating over these photos… dinner time.

  3. Mmmmm. Steeeaaaaaak.

    I’ve enjoyed grass-fed beef in restaurants, and have also purchased grass-fed bison, as steaks, roasts and ground.

    As host of the National Western Stock Show every year, Denver takes its steak quite seriously.

  4. I love me some grass-fed beef, though it can be on the strong side for some. Do you find that it takes longer to cook as well?

  5. We only eat grass-fed beef so I would love to have this to help supplement my freezer beef! I even twittered today that I wanted to win something!!!

  6. I’ve been buying grass-fed only for about 6 months. Worth it. You aren’t a snob, but I think we all understand that, sadly, not everyone can afford it. And that’s not the consumer’s problem, that’s a whole other political-soapbox-angry can of worms for me right there.

    Anyhoo.

    I also agree with the salt and pepper plain way. I think ribeye is best that way anyway. Your innards photo looks beautiful.

  7. I’ve never bought or cooked my own grass fed beef, but I happen to live across the street from a place called Burger Lounge that only sells grass-fed burgers (in San Diego, CA) and it is delicious. Pricey but delicious.

  8. faith says:

    Grassfed is the best way to avoid the antibiotics and hormones that are in regular beef.

    I often pick up dry aged steak from Whole Foods- delish! By the way, all their meat is “naturally raised” and much of it is no more expensive then prepackaged grocery store grossness. Try it!!

  9. I have not only had grass-fed beef, Robin, I think I am spoiled. Have a steak at my house now, means a special trip to the special store to by the dry-aged, grass-fed, rib-eyes. I simply cannot just pick up a steak at the local market. Even my wife notices the difference. I got to meet the local farmer who provides our local Whole Paychex with beef and his story was intriguing. The animals just run free all over his huge acreage. Let it be known, there is a difference!

  10. Nicole says:

    Love me some grass-fed beef! If you can’t be a vegetarian than the least you can do is be concsious of how you eat your meat.

  11. Michelle says:

    Good lord that’s a thing of beauty. I don’t know if I’ve ever had grass fed beef before. Sure would like to try it… 🙂

  12. Erin says:

    We get all our beef froma local butcher, where thay raise the cows in a field next to the store and do the slaughtering and butchering right on site. But I’m feeling pretty dumb right now because I never thought to ask what the cows EAT!!!! Thanks for the info, and I’d also love some free grass-fed beef, of course.

  13. You totally crack me up! I’ve never cooked with grass-fed beef, but now I *have* to try it out. I’m assuming they’ll have it at Whole Foods? Will check after work. Of course, if I win that would be doubly good!!

  14. PJ says:

    I am fortunate to live (East Central Illinois, and yes it is as exciting as it sounds) where I can get grass fed beef. Some of the cows, in fact, graze right by my back fence. There are about two dozen of them taking a siesta in the shade right this minute! I can’t afford it for all our beef needs, but I try to buy the nicer cuts from them: I have some NY strips, a roast and a brisket currently in my freezer. Of course, I have to BUY those, so…yeah…gimme free meat! Thanks!

  15. ooh i want to be entered 🙂 grass-fed is always good in my book. i’m curious to find grass-fed AND kosher — wonder if that exists.

  16. Nicole says:

    I have not had the pleasure of eating grass-fed beef, but I have had some grass-fed lamb both chops, and ground, and I must say it is a whole new realm of eating! Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  17. I love beef! I’d love to try grass-fed. Is the grass-fed movement based on getting away from the soy and corn in grains- or maybe the bi-products? Just wondering.

  18. genamiller says:

    I’m definitely a grass fed beef girl, and free grass fed beef would be even better! Thanks for the opportunity.

  19. I think we just have meat; one hopes it’s actually from a cow. Feeling just a little small here. Going to drown my sorrows in ice cream now.

  20. MaryH says:

    We occasionally get our meat from a butcher in Kutztown, Pa that is locally farmed. I don’t know what it is fed but it always tastes so much better than what we get at the store. I would love to try some grass fed and will be checking out the website you linked.

    Mary

  21. We launched an on-line farmers market in Dallas last month at http://www.eatgreendfw.com to help local ranchers and farmers sell their products throughout North Texas and to let folks try–among other things–grass-fed beef, truly free-range chicken and (soon to come) grass-fed pork and lamb.

    I haven’t tried cooking my steaks in bacon fat, but definitely will. Once you have steak, try a cut like a tri-tip roast. Makes great gravy. But be sure to cook it low and slow to keep it moist.

  22. I’m pregnant and normally just looking at red meat makes me want to hurl but time stood still when I saw the picture of your perfectly done steak. I love a phenomenal steak and that one looks so mouthwateringly terrific that I couldn’t resist wondering if I am past my weirdness with meat. Oh, say it’s so!

  23. It’s good to know that I’m not alone when it comes to writing articles about quality, good food. And I love sharing good recipes too. And the grass-fed meat looks mouthwatering…hmm id better try it soon. just droppin’ to say hi!
    I’d better check the archived posts from your site. Ciao!
    http://www.technocooks.com

  24. Nice guidelines for cooking this kind of beef. Send it this way please.
    Is it true that it’s cholesterol-free? Is it ? 🙂

  25. I love grass-fed beef, but I haven’t yet tried La Cense. Thanks for the link, the information, and the shot at a little something for nothing. 🙂

    Oh, and…

    And if you like your steak past medium, screw the grass-fed, screw any steak, you aren’t allowed to eat meat until you get some sense. (I know, that was mean…)

    maybe a little mean, but I agree with you. Stun it and run it past the grill.

  26. That steak looks so tasty. I would love a chance to try to win a sample and write about it in my new blog – EatSurfNTurf, salt and pepper is all it will get from me. I cook all my meat and fish as simply as I can.

  27. I have to agree with your stance on grass fed beef, growing up in Ireland grass fed beef is everywhere. I think that’s why the dairy products taste richer too, happy cows munching on grass!

  28. deana says:

    you are what you eat. it’s that simple. cows are ruminants. they were never meant to eat CORN. animals raised without the stress and horror of the feed lot just plain taste better. haven’t tried la cense yet but the grass fed i have had has been rich and flavorful.

Comments are closed.