Chocolate in the morning.

I’m guessing that no one needs another post about Molly’s french chocolate granola—the recipe that spread like wildfire through the blogging world last spring.  I remember reading it and thinking—oh, my, god—and promptly bookmarking it.  Then, as these things do, I forgot all about it and continued to make do with store-bought granola.

But this weekend, with quitting my job and the consequential worrying about money, store-bought granola suddenly seems an extravagance, as well as (so I’ve learned) down-right silly.  Store-bought granola doesn’t hold a candle to homemade, especially when it’s made with high-quality chocolate.  This chocolate granola, adapted just slightly from Molly’s, makes the perfect breakfast; it’s hardly sweet, with an undercurrent of bittersweet chocolate that echoes caffeine.  It calls to me wake up while at the same time rubbing my back, soothingly, telling me to pamper myself, to eat chocolate in the morning.

So that’s my plan.  I’m going to eat chocolate, in the form of granola, every day while I am in this transition period—while I sort out a few things and decide what’s on my horizon.  But to be honest, I don’t think I’ll stop eating it… ever.

Molly’s Chocolate Granola

adapted from Orangette

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • ½ cup raw almonds
  • ½ cup raisins
  • ½ cup, or more, finely chopped bittersweet chocolate
  • Pinch of salt
  • 6 Tbsp. mild honey
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

Preheat the oven to 300°F.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, almonds, raisins, chocolate, and salt. Stir well to blend.

In a small saucepan, warm the honey and oil over low heat, whisking occasionally  until the honey is loose. Pour over the dry ingredients, and stir to combine well.

Spread the mixture evenly on a rimmed baking sheet. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until golden. Set a timer to go off halfway through the baking time, so that you can give the granola a good stir; this helps it to cook evenly. When it’s ready, remove the pan from the oven, stir well – this will keep it from cooling into a hard, solid sheet – and cool completely.

When cool, transfer the granola to a large bowl, storage jar, or zipper-lock plastic bag.

22 thoughts on “Chocolate in the morning.

  1. You are handling this momentary roadblock quite well, girl! I’d be hitting the Jim Bean every morning, along with a donut. Ah yes, the finer things in life 🙂

  2. There’s nothing like the soothing comfort of favorite foods to get one through a rough spot. Ponder your options, make a nice meal and snuggle in with Jimmy and the pup. When the right time comes, the light will blind you, I’m certain. Until then, be good to yourself.

  3. I somehow missed the brouhaha over the original from Orangette, but you’ve got my attention now!!! By the way, I love how you slipped chocolate in the ingredient list twice – do you actually bake it with the chocolate and then add more after baking?

  4. Erin: I actually didn’t mean that – though I’m sure a little extra chocolate at the end wouldn’t hurt. I had baked the chocolate in with the rest of the granola – whereas Molly just adds it at the end – and didn’t notice that it wasn’t supposed to be baked in until I posted the recipe from Orangette. But anyways, I loved it baked in – the chocolate coated everything. I think I may, however, add some extra in. 🙂

  5. What a lovely recipe. Must have missed this on Molly’s site last year. Or perhaps I’m just more taken by your photos. Either way, I’ll be trying this soon.

  6. I think I’ll adapt this to use cocoa instead of chocolate. Even less sugar and fat = even less guilt 🙂
    And I’ll up the cocoa amperage – gotta get that morning hit.
    Look for an adaptation on chocolateinthemorning.com
    Thanks!

  7. jamessal says:

    The only reason I’m not taking offense to this talk of beating is that the granola is absolutely delicious. Keep cooking like this and you can beat me all you want, honey. 😉 😉 😉 😉

  8. Great idea! I used to mix cocoa powder in with my cereal last year…perhaps an odd idea, but i like the bitterness and the kick! Throw in some banana and it’s even better!

Leave a Reply

