Cilantro Oil

Have I ever told you that I have a thing for cilantro?  Oh, I have? Well, you can see what a dunce I’ve been then: A professed cilantro-lover, who’s never made cilantro oil before.  Bows head in shame.

The thing was, I never had even thought of cilantro oil before.  I add lots of cilantro to lots of things and it is a total-pain-in-the-ass to go out to the store solely for cilantro on a cold, wintery night but I never thought of another option.  Then finally, over the weekend I made cilantro oil and—while it’s not quite the real thing, less pungent—now I can unabashedly put it on anything (well, almost).

I’ll be showing you the reason why I made the cilantro oil (can you guess it? hint: it slurps) in a few days, though I’ve got to admit that my favorite use is drizzled over some of the ah-maze-ing bread I’ve been baking from this book.  So go ahead, make this cilantro oil before I let you in on its partner-in-recipe; I’m sure you’ll find some use for it.

Cilantro oil

  • 1 cup coarsely chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/4 cup safflower oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Purée cilantro, oil, and salt in cleaned blender (or with immersion blender), scraping down sides of blender (or bowl) several times. Pour oil into a jar or bottle and use within a few days or a week.  You can also strain out the solids for a smoother oil.

18 thoughts on “Cilantro Oil

  1. I also love cilantro and have a big bunch in the fridge leftover from some mexican meatball soup I made this weekend. Now I have something to do with it!

    Thanks for the great idea. What kind of bread did you bake? I baked my first “real” loaf of bread this weekend and I feel uberproud…haha.

    Have a great hump day!

  2. What a good idea! It would be super useful for leftovers from the bunch after using it in a recipe. Do you keep it on the counter or somewhere darker, like the pantry, as you would for storing oils? It might keep longer if you store it somewhere dark-ish.

  3. Whitney: I’ve been baking bread from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day… it’s so easy and fan-friggin-tastic bread.

    Claire: I actually store it in the fridge – it doesn’t solidify like other oils. I’m sure it lasts longer than a week, but wanted to err on the side of not-eating-spoiled-foods.

    Kristine: It would certainly work with olive oil. Actually, next time I make it I’ll probably use it instead (wanted only the flavor of cilantro to shine with this one.)

  4. What a great idea! I just wish it would stay longer than a week. I’m constantly buying new cilantro and never finishing the old bunch, I think it’s impossible!

  5. I love Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. It’s perfect for a working mom like me who’s always pressed for time. Hubby will love the cilantro oil, can’t wait to give it a try.

  6. Jeremy says:

    Robin, I’m making your roast chicken with bacon, roast potatoes & mushrooms again tonight by request of my wife and my daughter. They have been talking about it for the last three days.

  7. Something of a cilantro fanzine going on over here.
    I use it fresh in a rabbit dish with chili’s, peppers, lime. Drizzling this oil over the finished dish would be great. I’ll be giving that a try.
    Your oil would be great with poached halibut or similar

    • Kayce: My cilantro oil never turned black, but yes, I’m sure the color would be brighter. This oil was my fast-track version of an herb oil.

      Greg: Poached halibut sounds so fantastic.

      • Vicki says:

        Herb-infused oils can be dangerous if kept too long. It should be refrigerated and stored in the fridge for not longer than a month. Also blanching the cilantro would help considerably I would think.
        Thank you for your fabulous recipe(s)! I love them all!

Leave a Reply

