Thank you, with dill.

Hi.  I want to thank you guys for all the lovely comments and emails last post.  You guys are great for putting up with my complaining.  I’d like to thank you with a fresh, springy, picklely side dish: marinated yellow squash and green beans with dill.  It may not sound like the best thank you gift, but it’s made with my very best olive oil and a fabulous sherry vinegar and with lots of love from me. (Yes, Mr. Colicchio, love is an ingredient, here.)

It’s a really nice spring dish but an even nicer spring is being a fickle lover over here on the east coast dish; the vinegar adds a nip and a kick but the oil smooths everything over and warms you up.  And dill is such a happy, spring herb, isn’t it?  I made this with all the unused fresh vegetables we had from the weekend (Jim got sick and when that happens in this house we like to order take-out sushi and crawl up together on the couch until it passes.).

I julienned the squash mainly because I have a cool little one-purpose tool (I otherwise loathe one-purpose tools but this one is small and handy) that I don’t get to use often enough.  I don’t know how you julienne but this is how I do it: with my little orange julienner; his name is Howard and he makes quick work of a squash.

There’s a bit of prep-work involved in this thank-you dish (it’s sounding less and less like a thank you…), and though a tool like Howard would help, you could do this all with a trusty knife.  Julienne the squash, trim the green beans, and slice the mushrooms.  After that’s done, you’re practically there.  Blanch the vegetables quickly in boiling water, drain, and add to a vinagairette of sherry vinegar, your best olive oil, dill, and scallions.  Let it cool for an hour or so—I put mine out on the porch in the cold spring air—then season again with more salt, pepper, and dill.  And there you have it; thank you, with dill.

Marinated Squash and Green Beans

serves 4 – adapted from Saveur

We had this with some codfish lightly battered in flour and Urban Accents Pride of Prague spice blend, which has notes of paprika, fenugreek, dill, caraway, nutmeg, and pepper.  Very delicious.

  • 3 or so yellow squash
  • 1.5 pounds green beans
  • a few handfuls of button mushrooms
  • 4-5 scallions, chopped
  • fresh dill, to taste
  • 1/4 cup sherry vinegar
  • 1/4 good olive oil
  • salt, pepper

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.  Julienne squash and set aside.  Trim green beans and cut in half crosswise (or lengthwise if you don’t mind the extra work).  Slice mushrooms.  Once the water is boiling, add vegetables and blanch for a minute or two.  Drain well, trying to rid of any extra water—shaking the colander around helps.

In a medium bowl, add all the vegetables while they are still warm, then add the vinegar, oil, dill and scallions.  Salt and pepper.  Let cool for an hour or longer.  Season with more dill, salt, or pepper to taste.  Serve with a drizzle of that good olive oil.

12 thoughts on “Thank you, with dill.

  1. A. J. P. Crown says:

    Howard’s cute. To me, he’d be the difference between julienning and not julienning, but then I’m a lazy swine. Does Jim make trouble when you concoct these amazing dishes and then say ‘Don’t touch it, I have to get pictures’?

  2. Meghna says:

    This is the first time i have visited your site and i must say that I’m completely bowled over. Awesome presentation and even more awesome photos. I have just started a blog and seeing your blog gives me the enthusiasm to blog more. Keep up the work..

  3. I think I’m gonna need one of these unitasker tools as well. This gadget will get a lot of mileage in my kitchen. Mandolines just freak me out.

  4. I just bought one of those julienne peelers. I hadn’t thought about the fact that he needed a name, but obviously now I have a task for the weekend! The first thing we made together was a raw beet salad that was surprisingly awesome. Beets… Bert… Maybe Bert is his name! I’ll have to see what he thinks about that 😉 Thanks for the recipe, it sounds great!

  5. so happy to see you’re unsing Pride of Prague- It’s one of our unsung heros- so much more complex than paprika. thanks for your support
    Jim Dygas
    owner- urban Accents

    • Have you manually julienned before? If so, it’s not too daunting. But the first few times you julienne can be rough–though certainly not impossible!

Leave a Reply

